FFI On Friday | January 12, 2018

Prepared Exclusively for FFI Members

2018 FFI Achievement Awards Nominations Now Being Accepted

Nominations are being accepted for the 2018 FFI Achievement Awards.

These four awards have evolved over the last 25-years to honor the accomplishments of leaders in the field and to increase public awareness of the variety of skills and perspectives needed to work successfully with multi-generational families in business.

Two of these awards are named for founders of FFI. The Richard Beckhard Practice Award recognizes individuals making significant contributions to the practice of family enterprise consulting. The Barbara Hollander Award honors people who have dedicated themselves to lifelong learning. The Interdisciplinary and International Awards reflect two of FFI’s core commitments – to contribute to the development of the field from cross-disciplinary and global perspectives.

Please reflect on these awards and send nominations for one or more of them. Go here for submission and nomination guidelines. Applications should be submitted no later than April 15. The awards will be presented at the closing plenary on Friday, October 26, as part of the 2018 FFI Annual Global Conference in London.

FFI Achievement Awards

The Richard Beckhard Practice Award was established to honor a founding member of FFI and distinguished practitioner in the family enterprise field. It recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of family enterprise practice. Dick Beckhard himself was the first recipient; the most recent recipient was Drew Mendoza. Recipients have come from Canada, England, Mexico, Spain, and the United States.

Richard Beckhard

Drew Mendoza

The Barbara Hollander Award was created to honor the late founder and first president of FFI to perpetuate her profound interest in family business. The award recipient exemplifies Barbara Hollander’s love of education and learning, life-long commitment to social causes, dedication to civic responsibility, belief in the human capacity to change for the better, and belief in giving to others generously. Kathy Wiseman was the inaugural winner; the most recent recipients were Danny Miller and Isabelle Le Breton-Miller. Recipients hail from Australia, Canada, Cyprus, Italy, and Mexico, and the United States.

Kathy Wiseman

Danny Miller

Isabelle Le Breton-Miller

The Interdisciplinary Achievement Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the advancement of interdisciplinary services to family enterprises. Established in 1999, it was first given to the University of St. Thomas Center for Family Enterprise; the most recent recipient was Christine Blondel of INSEAD. In addition to the individuals winning this award, it has also been presented to Cambridge Center for Creative Enterprise, Pitcairn, Austin Family Business Program at Oregon State University, and the University of Tampa Entrepreneur and Family Business Center.

Christine Blondel

The International Award recognizes an individual or organization for outstanding achievement in furthering the understanding of family enterprise issues which occur between two or more countries. The first recent recipient was Barbara Murray; the most recipient was Dennis Jaffe. Sixteen individuals have won this award and five organizations, including Bocconi University and Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center, Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Randel Carlock and the Wendel International Centre for Family Business at INSEAD, and Instituto de la Empresa Familiar.

Dennis Jaffe

Randel Carlock

Dates to remember

Access FFI Social Link

January 13
(midnight Eastern Time)

Last day to submit a proposal for the FFI Global Conference in London.

January 17

Join members and friends for an FFI-sponsored reception at the IFG Annual Conference in New York City at the Union League Club.

February 15

Join members and friends for a regional reception with the FFI board of directors and the 2018 conference committee at Park Plaza Riverbank in London.

February 17

GEN 503 — Tools for Positive Change in Family Business Systems: Analysis and application, presented in London.

February 23

Last day to enroll in a Q1 GEN course.

March 1

Last day to submit for the Best Doctoral Dissertation Award.

March 21

Last day to register for the 2018 Global Conference at the Special Winter rate.

April 15

Last day to submit for the Best Unpublished Research Paper Award.

April 15

Last day to submit a nomination for an Achievement Award.