FFI On Friday | August 03, 2018

Prepared Exclusively for FFI Members

FFI Family Business
Research Award
at EURAM 2018

In February, upon recommendation of an FFI Task Force on Academic Awards, the FFI board voted to extend its awards program in conjunction with the European Academy of Management (EURAM).

The Task Force, chaired by Dianne Welsh, worked with Massimo Bau of EURAM to define the nature and scope of the awards. These awards were presented by FFI board member Fabian Bernhard at the 2018 EURAM conference in Reykjavik, Iceland, in June.

These awards, presented as part of the EURAM Family Business Research Special Interest Group submissions, are:

Best Quantitative Paper Award

Owners and Ecological Corporate Entrepreneurship: The Effect of Family Ownership on Eco-Innovation

Yannick Bammens
Maastricht University

Paul Hünermund
Maastricht University

Dianne Welsh, Anneleen Michiels, Yannick Bammens, Massimo Bau, and Fabian Bernhard

Best Qualitative Paper Award

Advancing Family Business Research Through Organizational Identity and Sensemaking: A Multi-Level Model of Family Firm Organizational Identity Construction by Non-Family Members

Julia Vincent-Ponroy
IPAG Business School

Patrick Lê
Neoma Business School

Camille Pradies
EDHEC Business School

Dianne Welsh, Anneleen Michiels, Julia Vincent-Ponroy, Massimo Bau, and Fabian Bernhard

In addition to the requirements of EURAM, the following FFI requirements were applied:

  • The manuscript shall not have been submitted to a journal at the time it is submitted to EURAM.
  • The winners are encouraged to submit the award-winning paper to Family Business Review for publication consideration.

The award winner papers each come with a prize of:

  • One-year membership in FFI
  • One complimentary registration to the FFI 2018 conference in London, October 24-26.
  • Cash prize of €500

Thanks to the Task Force on Academic Awards

Patricia Annino

Fabian Bernhard
EDHEC Business School

David Harvey
DJΛH Partners

Peter Jaskiewicz
University of Ottawa

Don Neubaum
Florida Atlantic University

Carlo Salvato
Bocconi University

Dianne Welsh
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, chair

Congratulations to all the 2018 FFI Award Winners. To view the complete list,
please go here.

Congratulations to all the 2018 FFI Award Winners. To view the complete list, please go here.

About the European Academy of Management

EURAM is a learned society founded in 2001. It aims at advancing the academic discipline of management in Europe. With members from 49 countries in Europe and beyond, EURAM has a high degree of diversity and provides its members with opportunities to enrich debates over a variety of research management themes and traditions.

Summer Reading

“The House of Morgan” by Ron Chernow

Published to critical acclaim twenty years ago, and now considered a classic, The House of Morgan is one of the most ambitious histories ever written about family business and American finance. It is a rich, panoramic story of four generations of Morgans and the powerful, secretive firms they spawned, ones that would transform the modern financial world.

Ron Chernow was a keynote speaker at the 1999 FFI Conference in Chicago.

Built for busy professionals, FFI GEN delivers world-class curriculum, unparalleled access to faculty and thought leaders, and connections to a global network of specialists in the field. Want to take your skills to the next level? Q3 enrollment is now open.