

2019 Family Firm Institute (FFI) Academic Awards Submissions Now Being Accepted

for Two Prestigious Awards in the Field of Family Business Study

The Best Doctoral Dissertation Award is given to encourage and recognize outstanding academic achievement in the field of family business study. The Best Dissertation is awarded annually after a blind, peer review of all submissions. Dissertations may be on any topic of relevance to the understanding and appreciation of family firms and/or family firm advisors. Dissertations must have been written as part of a graduate course of study at an accredited academic institution and defended in the last calendar year.

Award: Cash prize of \$2,500 plus one-year membership in FFI and complimentary registration to the 2019 Annual Global Conference in Miami

Submit

If you are submitting a paper for consideration, please:

- upload your completed doctoral dissertation as requested on the form. Include the author's name, address, phone and email on the title page only.
- upload a one-page abstract of no more than 120 words.
- upload a summary of no more than 20 pages following the accompanying criteria.
- · submit dissertation in PDF format.

Dissertations can be submitted in any language, but the abstract and summary must be submitted in English.

Submission Deadline: The deadline for submissions for awards is March 1 of the award year.

Submit online:

https://www.ffi.org/awards/best-doctoral-dissertation/

Criteria

The overall quality of the entry will be based on purpose and significance of the study, research questions, literature review, research design, sample, data collection, data analysis, findings, theory (if applicable), limitations of the study, and implications for practice and research.

The entry will also be reviewed based on: literature survey, model development, hypothesis generation, research design, sample and site selection, data gathering methods, variable definition and measurement, data analysis methods, findings and conclusions.

The Best Unpublished Research Paper Award is awarded annually after a blind, peer review of all submissions. Papers may be on any topic of relevance to the understanding and appreciation of family firms and/or family firm advisors. The manuscript should not have been submitted to a journal at the time it is submitted for the award. Manuscripts should not be more than 45 typed double spaced pages, all inclusive, (using 12-point Times New Roman font and one-inch/2.5 cms margins). Researchers are not allowed to submit more than one paper (per year). The winners are encouraged to submit the award winning paper to *FBR* (or equal journal) for publication consideration.

Award: Cash prize of \$2,500 plus one-year membership in FFI and complimentary registration to the 2019 Annual Global Conference in Miami

Submit

If you are submitting a paper for consideration, please:

- upload your completed unpublished research paper as requested on the form.
 Include the author's name, address, phone and email address on the title page only
- submit paper in PDF format
- only one submission per author

Submission Deadline: The deadline for submissions for awards is April 15 of the award year.

PLEASE NOTE: Only one submission per author.

To submit online:

https://www.ffi.org/awards/best-unpublished-research-paper/

Nominees will be notified of decisions in writing by June 1 of the submission year. Winners are expected to be present at the FFI annual conference to receive the award. Implicit in the awards submission is a commitment, if a winner, to be available to judge this category twice in the subsequent three years.

Best Dissertation Award Recipients

2018	Jeroen Neckebrouck	2005	Alberto Gimeno
2017	Hanqing Fang	2004	Annika Hall
	David Jiang	2003	Elmarie Venter
2016	Joshua Nacht	2002	Mark L. Hoelscher
2015	Miriam Bird	2001	Denise Kenyon-Rouvinez
2014	Francesco Barbera	1998	Daphna F. Raskas
2013	Nadine Kammerlander	1997	Jeffrey D. Swartz
2012	Annette Rahael	1996	Michael Wakefield
	Esra Memili	1995	Marilyn Elaine Fuss-Reineck
2011	Ignacio Requejo Puerto	1994	Christopher Eckrich
2010	Wayne Jeremy Irava	1993	Susan T. Ferkany
2009	Sami Alwuhaibi	1992	Kevin Seymour
2008	Stephanie Brun de Pontet	1991	Johannes Welsch
2007	Alain Praet	1990	Wendy Handler
2006	Naomi Birdthistle	1989	Colette Dumas

Best Unpublished Research Paper Award Recipients

2018	Kristen Madison, Kimberly A. Eddleston,	2006	Belen Villalonga, Raffi Amit
	Franz W. Kellermanns, Gary N. Powell	2005	Annika Hall, Mattias Nordqvist
2017	Patricio Duran, Pascual Berrone, Luis Gomez-Mejia,	2004	Reginald Litz
	Pursey Heugens, Tatiana Kostova, Marc van Essen	2003	Pramodita Sharma, S. Manikutty
2016	Jim Chrisman, Srikant Devaraj, Pankaj C. Patel	2002	Pramodita Sharma, Greg Irving
2015	Cristina Bettinelli, Manisha Singal, John Davis	2001	Ercilia Garcia-Alvarez, Jordi Sintas-Lopez
2014	Jan-Philip Ahrens, Michael Woywode	2000	Reginald Litz, Robert Kleysen
2013	Cinzia Dessi, Michela Floris, Nadine Kammerlander,	1999	Pramodita Sharma, Jess Chua, James Chrisman
	Alessandra Murru	1998	Barbara Murray
2012	Nava Michael-Tsabari, Rania Labaki,	1997	Susan F. Moon, Anisa M. Zvonkovic
	Ramona Zachary	1996	Daniel McConaughy
2011	Lucia Naldi, Mattias Nordqvist, Thomas Zellweger	1995	Ivan Light
2010	Pankaj Patel, Kimberly Eddleston, Franz Kellermanns	1994	Barbara Dunn
2009	Isabelle Le Breton-Miller, Danny Miller,	1992	Steven D. Goldberg, Bill Wooldridge
	Richard Lester	1991	Richard Guzzo
2008	James Chrisman, Jess Chua	1990	Cynthia lannarelli
2007	Danny Miller, Isabelle Le Breton-Miller,	1989	Stewart Malone
	Richard H. Lester, Albert A. Canella, Jr.	1303	Olewait MaiUlic